Author: Logan

The Governors Awards are presented in Utah on October 1st

The Governors Awards are presented in Utah on October 1st

Michael J. Fox, Diane Warren, Peter Weir and Euzhan Palcy honored at Governors Awards

The Governors Awards have been presented annually since 1996, to celebrate the contributions of film and television actors who have “emotional, educational, or inspirational impact on children, youth, or families.”

The awards, which were established by Governor Tom Vilsack in 1990, are presented by the League of Utah Women in Film & Television, Utah Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the Utah State History Museum in the State Capitol Rotunda, on the first Friday in October.

Fox, whose family moved to Utah in 1988, was nominated this year for his work on Fox’s family drama, “Boston Public.” Fox was considered a leading candidate for Best Actor in a Drama Series for the second year in a row, after he was honored for his work on the Fox series, “House” in 1998. Fox won the award despite only recently having been cast for the part.

Warren has made many appearances on NBC’s “Law & Order,” CBS’s “CSI” and “NCIS,” ABC’s “Scrubs” and “Modern Family” among others. When Warren appeared on “CSI” in 1996, she was nominated for the Breakout Performance of the Year by a TV Actress. She is the first person to ever receive this honor on “All My Children” and the sixth woman to do so on “CSI.”

“CSI” was also nominated for both a Special Class Award and a Continuing Development Award in the category of Best Drama Series.

Peter Weir, who has been nominated for Best Actor for both his roles on “The West Wing” and “Master Harold” was honored for his contribution to television drama. While on “The West Wing,” Weir won the Emmy for Best Lead Actor in a Drama Series. He also received a Satellite

Leave a Comment